Tags

, , , , , , ,

On this loc journey I had to learn how to learn how to moisturize my hair and scalp all over again. Ok, honestly, for the first time I was taught how to moisturize my hair. I feel embarrassed to even admit that, but my beauticians did that when I was growing up. Then when I switched over to braiding my own hair I neglected that aspect all together. Lol.

My locktician informed me that, when it comes to locking your hair, moisturizing your hair does NOT mean water. Yes, I repeat, moisturizing your hair does NOT mean water.  Shocking, right? Yes, I know! When I turned natural, every Youtube video and LongHairCareForum.com post told me that moisture meant water. I am so confused. Which is it? Well, when you begin the process, I advise that a professional help you, but water should be as far away from your scalp as possible unless supervised. I say this because adding water will also alter the cylindrical shape of the twists and can also cause twists to fuse together earlier on. And if you wanted that maintenance look, water is not your friend without supervision and without its use at the proper time.

So, what do you use? Well, the scalp produces a substance/oil called Sebum. I didn’t know this either until I began my apprenticeship. Lol. Some scalps produce more oils, others less….but we all have sebum. I also discovered that Mother Nature produces three (3) oils that are very similar in their makeup as sebum’s makeup. Those oils are coconut, almond, and extra virgin olive oil. So, when moisturizing your scalp, you should use one of these.

The moisturizing process is easy! I may even do a video on it (Don’t hold your breath). The steps are easy:

  1. You simply place the oil in an applicator bottle. You know the one with the pointy tip.
  2. You run the applicator through your parts
  3. Then you pour a small amount of the oil in the palms of your hands and you GENTLY rub it over your twists.
  4. Then, massage your scalp without disturbing the twists or unraveling.

And voila! You have succeeded in moisturizing your scalp. See, that wasn’t so hard.

Also, don’t be alarmed when/if the twists start to droop forward. The weight of the oil in your hair will add weight to the twists and that is normal. Also, do not put a ton of oil on your head. The oil will drip, it may mess with your clothes, so do so sparingly but with the intention to moisturize. I would moisturize my hair at night so that by the time I wake up in the morning, majority of the oil would be absorbed.

I hope that this has helped you if you are beginning your journey.

~Nappy Head